Gifts · Make up · nails

Essence I Love Sparkle review

So for today, it’s my first review! Christmas is coming, and Essence has launched, among other holiday-spirit themed things, a sparkly gift set.

img_20161109_125528
Essence I love sparkle-gift set

Honestly, the tag scares me a little. “Leave a little sparkle wherever you go” is sometimes a very literal description when it comes to glittery things.

The box contains two nail polishes, an eye shadow palette, a pair of false lashes, and a lip gloss, all in brown-y, bronz-y tones.

img_20161109_125752

Which is why I bought it – I am so, so pale and cool toned that warm colours suit me. My eyes look greener also! Like this:

img_20161109_135709
Quick look I did right before I rushed to class.

For this look, I used three of the eye shadow shades, and the lip gloss. The shadow palette is good, like Essence often is, all metallic tones in gold and rust and pale and dark tones. Paired with Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base, they lasted all day! Very pleased with them.

Unfortunately, I am not so pleased with rest of the stuff. Lip gloss was rather gold toned, and did not really suit me. It just made my lips look paler. I cannot really imagine a skin tone it would fit, unless used for a specific look. The false lashes were a disappointment too: they were HUGE. I honestly think they were like, twice the length of my own lashes, super thick, and kind of.. clunky. I could not get them to settle, even when I cut part of it off. I looked ridiculous any way I tried.

Lastly, the nail polishes, which were my main interest. I didn’t do any elaborate look, but rather just swatched them:

img_20161109_134429

So. One with satin finnish, and one that is all glitter. Both gave me a bit of a head ache. Satin is a fairly nice colour, metallic brown, and it does look like satin fabric, doesn’t it? The problem with these sort of finishes is always the application, as you can see. This is three coats with top coat. It really did not want to go smoothly, and me trying to fix it made it only worse. And the glitter one? Well, slightly better. It is also three coats here, but I think it would need one more for complete opaqueness. It also did leave a “little sparkle” everywhere. On my pinky finger you can see them both: satin with glitter topping, both one coats, which turned out to be the best combination. It actually looks nice! It’s a shame they don’t really work on their own.

All in all, for a bit less than 10 euros, it’s not too bad, I think? I would pay 10€ for eye shadow palette alone with some other brands. It does look good, though.

What do you think? Would you buy it? Have you bought it?

Leave a Reply

